Buried in the sound of thoughts I once knew… Song 192

Aaaaaaaannnnndddd… TIME! Pencils down. What have we learned today? I learned that I like the sound of an SG with a wah stuck in the sweet-spot going in a Marshall. Other than that, I haven’t learned much that I know of. But the day is young and the night is younger.

Song 192: “Demons”

http://mattsams.bandcamp.com/track/demons

I live to understand what I have inside
I’m spinning wheels in the sand forgetting to hide
I seem to run aground no matter what I do
I’m buried in the sound, of thoughts I once knew
It’s all I have left in this world

Living in a silver mine, my pockets full of gold
Living in a young man’s skin, always feeling old
Stripping down the parts I found to recall what I am
Buried in a grave of doubt, wired into sin
It’s all I ever wanted in this world

I try to stare and bleed properly
But no one’s aware in this time of need

Pieces of a torn life chasing down my dreams
In a sense it’s like a knife not knowing what it means
I could build a path to walk if I had the need
I could be the one to talk of defect in belief
It’s all I can take from this world

I try to stare and bleed properly
But no one’s aware in this time of need

I’ve got to fight it forever, there can be no peace
I want to lose in forever, I want to be released

It’s not demons, it’s just breathing

credits

from July, track released 11 July 2014
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams

Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

