If I could fly, I would choose a bigger cage… Song 220

In honor of it being 08/08, I chose the TR-808 drum machine to start off this song. What started as a minimalist acoustic/drum machine/vocal kind of song quickly expanded into the rocker it turned out to be. I’m happy with it though. Enjoy!

 

Song 220: “Bring Me Down”

http://mattsams.bandcamp.com/track/bring-me-down

 

I’m on a roll but I’m not the actor, hiding from your natural disaster
I can’t tell just what you’re after, I won’t take this lightly
I’m gonna need some more information, If you want my retaliation
I’m sending my brain on vacation, I can’t take this anymore

If I could fly, I would choose a bigger cage
There’s a restless reason hiding in the rage
I start on empty every single day
I keep finding valuables placed in my way

Every step is littered with torment, prod and pull to find out what you meant
The secrets held in letters unsent, I won’t open
I won’t chase fires left unburnt, Taken in by desperate hurt
Buried in the taste of your dirt, I won’t suffer it

If I could fly, I would choose a bigger cage
There’s a restless reason hiding in the rage
I start on empty every single day
I keep finding valuables placed in my way

Can’t you see, you won’t bring me down

If I could fly, I would choose a bigger cage
There’s a restless reason hiding in the rage
I start on empty every single day
I keep finding valuables placed in my way

Can’t you see, you won’t bring me down

credits

from August, track released 08 August 2014
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

