I can’t change my face around your smile… Song 230

Today is one of those rare occasions that the song I started turned out exactly how I had envisioned it. I’m very happy with the result! Most of the time when I start working on a song, one thing or another will make me change what I was originally doing and the song turns out very different than what I set out for. Songs that were supposed to be a simple acoustic song end up a loud-guitar rocker, or songs that were intended to be rockers turn out very synthy and electronic. Give it a listen!

Song 230: “We Will See”

http://mattsams.bandcamp.com/track/we-will-see 

Saving all your life for a day like this
This is not a time you’ll ever want to miss
I won’t build a cage around my life
I can’t change my face around your smile

Will you call me out by name, in sadness
Will you lock me out of your world, It’s madness
I won’t chase away what I need
I won’t change my meaning around your frowns

I am unafraid of the plans made, we will see

I’m never under orders from on high
Knowing how I feel is not a lie
I won’t build my castle on the sand
I can’t change my places around your world

I’m unaware of the plan here, we will see

I’m unaware of the plan here, we will see

Will you call me out by name, in sadness
Will you lock me out of your world, It’s madness
I won’t chase away what I need
I won’t change my meaning around your frowns

credits

from August, track released 18 August 2014
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

