You don’t have to understand my world… Song 260

Today worked out well. I came up with the basic structure of this song in about 10 minutes. It’s sort of an odd way of playing the acoustic guitar, I was using my thumb to fret the bass notes. It was fun though… check it out!

Song 260: “I Pretend To Know”

I remember why I refused to go
Tired of wasting time on places I don’t know
I pretend to know how it works

You don’t have to understand my world
You just have to understand I care

I recall how I wanted worlds beyond my dreams
The only thing I want now, is to know what it means
I pretend I know what it means

You don’t have to understand my world
You just have to understand I care

I am wiping time from my mind
I pretend I knew all along

You don’t have to understand my world
You just have to understand I care

I suppose I’ll step outside to reveal all the time I spent
The only love I know about, is slipping through words unsent
I pretend to know who I am

You don’t have to understand, just know I care
I pretend that I’m unaware

credits

from September, track released 17 September 2014
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

