I’ve stolen my vices and I’ve sold all my virtues, but what will it mean in the end… Song 353

12 songs to go! What will I do with myself come January? Today’s song took forever to finish. Everything from technical glitches to my own fumble-fingers seemed to conspire to check if I really wanted to do this song. But I did it, and here it is. Check it out!

Song 354: “Different Now”

I’ve been a beggar and I’ve been a chooser
And I’ve been a blinded fool
I’ve been a faker and I’ve been a taker
I’ve pretended like I was cool
But I’m different nowI’ve been a winner and I’ve been a loser
I’ve agreed to disagree
I’ve moved along and I’ve stayed where I was
I’ve let the world get to me
But I’m different now

All my life mistakes have been made
But I realize, it’s what I save that matters

I’ve been a liar and I’ve told the truth
I’ve spoken my mind without any proof
I’ve been a heart breaker, and have had my heart broken
I know what it’s like to be hurt
But I’m different now

I’ve been a grown up, and I’ve been a child
I’ve seen my fair share of abuse
I’ve been a lover and I’ve been a fighter
I’ve been left with nothing to lose
But I’m different now

All my life mistakes were made
But I realize, it’s what I save that matters

Close your eyes to my world, I won’t suffer
Close your eyes to this love if you must
Say goodbye to me, I won’t suffer
Say goodbye if you must, I’ll still be here

I’ve been awake and I’ve been so tired
I’ve screamed in rage at the wind
I’ve stolen my vices and I’ve sold all my virtues
But what will it mean in the end
Am I different at all

credits

from December, track released 19 December 2014
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

