I can only see how it’s supposed to be… Song 9

Another day, another song. I’m glad I was able to finish this one before the storm hits. The whole world (chicagoland) will soon be encased in ice. Maybe that’s a bit dramatic, but it is getting pretty cold out. This song was built around a finger-picked acoustic guitar part. It evolved pretty quickly. While this song is a bit depressing, it sounds really pretty. I hope you like it!

Song 9: “Embrace Of The Sea”

Of all the winds we suffer, caught in this storm
Growing old means growing cold and I want to stay warm

I swallow all my regrets, It rings hollow with secrets never kept whole

I can count my blessings until the end of time
It doesn’t change the lessons I try to leave behind

I call out in the empty night, I choke on words I do not dare to speak

All this time, I was blind
I can only see how it’s supposed to be

I can feel your thunder wash over me
I may as well accept the embrace of the sea

I stole this reason for myself
I chose to keep it in my own hell

I may as well accept the embrace of the sea

credits

from January 2016, track released January 9, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

