They’re not quite as luminous as you… Song 64

Here’s today’s song. It’s rockin! Now I have to get ready to see the very excellent Sons of the Silent Age. The tribute band for David Bowie. Matt Walker of Filter, Smashing Pumpkins and Morrissey fame is the drummer. Chris Connelly (Revolting Cocks, Ministry, PTP, Acid Horse, Killing Joke, and Pigface) sings, and does a damn good Bowie! Sinead O’Connor is performing with them too!

Today’s song is one of those that was composed “in the box”. I just picked a note and started going from there. The guitars and bass were recorded after I had all the drums and synths done. I also used the vocaloids as backup singers on this one. It’s a nice, somewhat romantic song. Enjoy!

Song 64: “Sirius”

There’s the sun and there’s the moon
They’re not quite as luminous as you
You can shine on me and I can make you see

You’re the brightest star
You’re the brightest star in my sky

I fumble in the dark for feelings I don’t show
I wander through this life, feeling like a ghost
But then you shine on me and suddenly I see

You’re the brightest star
You’re the brightest star in my sky

I know it takes some time to see what I can be
I open up my heart and every part of me
When you smile for me, we’re happy as can be

You’re the brightest star
You’re the brightest star in my sky

Shine, shine

You can shine on me and I can make you see

You’re the brightest star in my sky

credits

from March 2016, track released March 4, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

