I rolled into the city, a stranger with no home… Song 86

Life can throw you some really bad curves. The hardest time of my life was when I was homeless. I almost lost all will to live. I was sleeping in forest preserves and later my car. There were many suicidal nights and days spent trying to hide in plain sight. I worked two jobs at one point and still couldn’t get it together enough to get a stable place to live. Still, even at my lowest point, I still couldn’t stop writing songs and playing my guitar. I was lucky enough to meet some very kind people that would help when they could. It kept me alive. It kept me going, if only for one more day. I guess eventually, I figured out that it makes no sense to punch yourself in the face as punishment for stumbling. Once I found a bit of inner peace, I found some strength.

Resetting my focus on music has saved my life in a very real and tangible way. As for those less tangible ways, I cherish those just as much, if not more.

Today’s song was another one that started as just acoustic, then exploded into a composition with too many instruments. I ended up stripping it back to a more simple arrangement. I think that was good because it gave me the right headspace to let these lyrics come out. Overall, I really like how this turned out…

Song 86: “Found My Way”

I rolled into the city, a stranger with no home
Nothing on my back, desperate and alone
But I found a way

I trusted in kindness, I fought to be at peace
I laid my head in the woods

I shrugged it off and picked it up, fighting tooth and nail
All the work I struggled through, I thought would see me there
But I found my way

Through all the coldest nights and all my darkest days
I laid my head in my hands

I took my chances, I paid my dues
Now I lay my head in the clouds

After all is said and done
I guess I’m on my way
After all is said and done
I guess I found my way

After all is said and done
I guess I’m on my way
After all is said and done
I guess I found my way

credits

from March 2016, track released March 26, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

