A story never told can still be true… Song 89

Ah, sun is shining today. Spring is in the air! And pollen… there’s also pollen in the air. Eh, sneezes aside, I think today was pretty good. I wrote today’s song a little bit differently than I usually do. Most of the time I write the lyrics and sing after everything else is recorded and done. Today I wrote the lyrics as I was composing the song on acoustic guitar. The old-fashioned way. Then, an explosion of guitars! There are 27 guitar overdubs on this, plus 4 acoustic guitar overdubs. That’s a lot of strings sending out their beautiful vibrations!

Song 89: “A Story Never Told”

I won’t trade diamonds for your sand
The dust that I become, slips through your hands
It’s been a long road in my eyes
A bitter word or two is no surprise, I tried

A skip and jump becomes my routine
The stones put in my way can’t stop everything
I watch the sun slowly rise
Another broken thought is no surprise, I tried

To give it up for good, I never thought I could
But I believe I missed, another tale of bliss
A story never told, can still be true
I knew what I had to do

I slip away with every urge denied
I bled a bit every time you cried
I keep awake as this feeling dies
Another shattered view is no surprise, I tried

To give it up for good, I never thought I could
But I believe I missed, another tale of bliss
A story never told, can still be true
I knew what I had to do

To give it up for good, I never thought I could
But I believe I missed, another tale of bliss
A story never told, can still be true
I knew what I had to do
I knew what I had to do
I knew what I had to do
I knew what I had to do

credits

from March 2016, track released March 29, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

