Like a lamb to the slaughter… Song 91

Well, three months down, nine to go! This project is going better than it did last time around. I feel much more confident about it. I think the quality of songs may be better and I’m learning more and more techniques that are helping. So, off I go into more songs… like a lamb to the slaughter…

Song 91: “Like A Lamb”

In the dark of night, the song drifts to me
A siren calls my name quietly
Drifting in the haze

I fall asleep in her arms
Like a lamb to the slaughter
A warmth swallows me whole

I stand exposed drifting into darkness
I stand alone with a voice I can’t ignore
Screaming in my ears

I follow along
Like a lamb to the slaughter
The tricks get me every time

I can’t let it out, I can’t let it show

I fall asleep in her arms
Like a lamb to the slaughter
I follow along
Like a lamb to the slaughter
A warmth swallows me whole

credits

from March 2016, track released March 31, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

