The instant I dream, I’m already changing… Song 100!

Well, they say the first 100 are the hardest… but I’m still steamrolling ahead. Today’s song took a long time to finish. Probably the longest time spent so far this year. Which is weird, seeing as the song itself isn’t particularly long or technically complicated. But I got through it and I like the end result. Only 266 songs to go!

Song 100: “Fates”

The instant I dream, I’m already changing
Now I feel it more and more

I stumble over wishes never granted
Empty balloons on a mailbox
The party was over far too soon

Taken by the silence, tripping over words
Love can be so violent, slipping between worlds
Don’t let the fates be cruel

All of my thoughts are stolen by the noise
Misdirection in the cloudless sky
What seems to be calm hides torrents

Taken by the silence, tripping over words
Love can be so violent, slipping between worlds
Don’t let the fates be cruel

Stagger and fall, I don’t know why
Red turns to grey, I don’t know why

Don’t let the fates be cruel
Don’t let the fates be cruel

credits

from April 2016, track released April 9, 2016
Written recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

