Drowning in a waterfall, swimming in mid-air… Song 114

Another Saturday is upon us. At least the sun is shining. I’m actually having a nice day. The music for today’s song was actually written back in March. I wrote four songs that day and I really liked it. So, I saved it for later to finish. Today was that day. I think it turned out quite nicely!

Song 114: “Everywhere”

Can’t leave it here, can’t take it with you
Catching fire like lightning in a jar
The world burns down, and I just wait
I figure out how much I can take

Drowning in a waterfall, swimming in mid-air
I slip out and miss the call, I can’t be everywhere

There’s no divide between light and dark
Withering roots on towering trees
I fall down, underwhelmed
I figure out which words to meld

Walking through an empty room, turning out the lights
I can’t be everywhere, I don’t have to fight

Just take a chance, it will be alright
Just take a chance, it will be alright

I can’t be everywhere
(Just take a chance, it will be alright)

credits

from April 2016, track released April 23, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

