Sometimes I can’t believe the words… Song 127

There’s a difference between self confidence and self esteem. The worst things that have ever been said to me, came from my own mouth. I feel confident in what I’m doing and who I am, but for some reason I find it extremely hard to feel good about myself. This feeling ebbs and flows with good days and bad. I just don’t know why I say the things I say to myself. Maybe I’m a masochist? Or maybe it’s just a drive to always improve. What’s the point if you’re not learning anything or getting better at something? I guess I should lay off the emotional self-abuse…

Song 127: “In The Eye”

I’m not sure I want to know, the darkest places I can go
But when I want to find out what it means when

I can’t look myself in the eye, I always wonder why
I say the things I say to myself

I believe I know the plan, I can see where I stand
But sometimes I can’t believe the words

I can’t look myself in the eye, I always wonder why
I say the things I say to myself

I’m the only one, I’m the only one
I’m the only one, I’m the only one I don’t believe

I can’t look myself in the eye, I always wonder why
I say the things I say to myself

I say the things I say to myself
I say the things I say to myself
I say the things I say to myself

credits

from May 2016, track released May 6, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

