I’m a wild fire now, burning wild flowers down… Song 149

Every once in a while, a wildfire is needed to rejuvenate the forest. Burn away the old to make room for the new. If only that worked in other situations…. if only…

Song 149: “Ashes”

A rough-hewn soul, I’m not commonplace
The more I know, I see common sins
But I’m not alone in feelings shown to me

I’m a wild fire now
Burning wild flowers down
Ashes in the wind, I fade away
Ashes in the wind, ashes in the wind

I get lost in my glory days
I can’t fight to stay awake
I’m on my own in my maze-like world

I’m a wild fire now
Burning wild flowers down
Ashes in the wind, I fade away
Ashes in the wind, ashes in the wind

I tie my hands and force a fall
I wonder why I try at all

I’m a wild fire now, I’m a wild fire now

credits

from May 2016, track released May 28, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

