Inch by Inch a creeping death… Song 158

I approached today’s song in a way I don’t normally think of. Instead of layers of synths and guitar overdubs, I chose to go with one track and one take for everything. It feels like there’s a lot of open space in the track. It’s not something I think I’ll do very often, but it is nice to change things up, production-wise every once in a while. I think the lyrics are a bit out there, but it’s me, so I don’t know why I’m surprised. I didn’t have anything in particular in mind when I started writing. Reading back over the lyrics though, I imagine it’s about someone being drugged, sealed in a coffin and then cremated. There’s also the see/hear/speak no evil aspect to it. Huh… weird. Anyway, check it out!

Song 158: “No Evil”

Taken steps to drive away, bitter bitter hearts
Is there a motive here
Inch by Inch a creeping death, sweet sweet dreams
Is this really the answer

I can feel the hammer drop, I don’t need to hear

On and on the drones drone, I don’t have the will
I feel it in my bones bones, crushed like a pill expired

Light that fire with confidence, strike strike that match
Are all kills murder
Tear thorough fallout like a wolf, howl howl at the night
Is it not over yet

I can feel the fire’s heat, I don’t need to see

If words mean nothing, I don’t have to speak

If I still feel my heart beat
I’m still not a ghost

credits

from June – 2016, track released June 6, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

