A simple choice to block out the noise… Song 197

It really cooled off today and then the rains came. Not anything serious, just a lazy drizzle for most of the day. These kind of days seem really quiet to me. I like the break from the noise. It has a soothing effect on my mind. Like I can actually think for once. Tomorrow will be sunny and active. I will feel recharged and ready to hit the ground running… or at least hit the ground.

The weather sort of set the mood for today’s song. It’s pretty simple at heart. I composed the structure on acoustic guitar, but the only instruments in the finished version are piano, cello and drums. But of course I had to put in a guitar solo. Only, this time I made my guitar sound like a cello. So, I guess it’s a cello solo? Either way, it sounds really cool.

Song 197: “I Give In”

Slowly I give in, watching the rain
Softly fall to the ground
I feel like I’m unbound now

Wash away that endless sound
I feel at peace
I softly call out who will listen
Is anyone out there watching over me

A simple choice to block out the noise
Ever-present in this life
I pull down these cloud filled skies
I can’t believe in paradise

Lift me up, tear me down
Build me up, cut me down
In my prime

Slowly I give in

credits

from July – 2016, track released July 15, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

