The oceans are filled with your tears… Song 203

Today’s song is a fairly simple arrangement. Acoustic guitar, vocals, drums, bass, one synth and the solo. WIth really only a few instruments in play, the song sounds surprisingly dense. This song is more of a mist of sound, rather than a wall of sound. It seems to totally envelop you as you listen. It feels a little hypnotic to me.

Song 203: “Like The Sun”

The stars shine through your smile
The earth moves when you speak
Time stands still when you look at me
Your face glows like the sun
Like the sun

I burn bright in the sky
This wild life passes by so fast
I never tried to fight
The wings I need to reach the sky

The oceans are filled with your tears
Your wind fills my lungs so free
I stand still to hear your heart beat
Your soul glows like the moon
Like the moon

I drift off in a lullabye
Forever in your skies, and I’m
Feeling like I’ve been freed
From the cage and bleed on the page

I’m an open door
And you know what I’ve got in store

I drift off in a lullabye
Forever in your skies, and I’m
Feeling like I’ve been freed
From the cage and bleed on the page

credits

from July – 2016, released July 1, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

