Don’t wake me up, my valentine… Song 222

Song 222

I decided to see how far I can go with a purely synthesized song. All the instruments here, including bass and guitars are all virtual instruments. Not because it sounds better, or is easier, just to see if I could. What did I learn? It’s a hell of a lot easier and faster to just play the damn guitar! I spent a total of 9 hours on this one. I had intended to also use the vocaloids to do the lead vocals, but it all got way out of hand and I gave up. This is something I’ll have to play around with in my spare time (as if I have any of that). I think my choice with the lyrics are due to the fact that I haven’t been sleeping very well, and I don’t feel rested. So, sleep and dreaming are on my mind. I thought there wasn’t enough coffee in the world this morning to get me going, but I somehow managed. So, there’s that.

Song 222: “Dreaming”

Don’t wake me up, my valentine
Don’t shake me up, this love of mine
Are you only dreaming

Please don’t wake me up, I don’t want this dream to end
Please don’t wake me, please
I don’t want this feeling to go away
I just want to dream my life away with you

Careful where you put this heart of mine
Please don’t let it break
Am I only dreaming

Please don’t wake me up, I don’t want this dream to end
Please don’t wake me, please
I don’t want this feeling to go away
I just want to dream my life away with you

Am I only dreaming, it feels so real

I don’t want this feeling to go away
I just want to dream my life away with you

credits

from August 2016, track released August 9, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

