I want to strike out and make life matter… Song 246

Every journey has a beginning. What lies one step beyond the door? Will I find open arms waiting to greet me? Will I find vicious beasts waiting to eat me? Is there a point to any of it? Once one step is taken, the only course is to take the next. What will happen? Who will I become? Will I feel that my life has been worthwhile? Who I am and who I’ll be is still to be decided. Do I decide, or is it up to the fates?

Song 246: “Year Zero”

Will I ever learn
Is it up to me to leave this womb so warm

This child was born innocent

So much I don’t know
Will I ever find out what life should be

Is this world for me or just a mistake of the fates

What devils lurk in the man I will be
Will I float, will I drown
Should I look or just wait and see

I’m sure there’s so much more
I’m sure that there’s something there for me

I want to strike out and make life matter

What devils lurk in the man I will be
Will I float, will I drown
Should I look or just wait and see

One step, then nine
A crawl to a sprint
Drifting in time
A battle of life
Heaven sent

credits

from bellum spirituale – September 2016, track released September 2, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Song1
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

