Time stops, suspended… Song 262

I settle into my new home, high at the top of the tower. An early morning fog starts to roll in from the ocean. Before long, I feel as if I’m in the clouds. The earth and sea beneath me slowly fade, replaced by a dense blanket of haze.

The fog keeps rising, until it is pouring through my opened windows. The sickness I first felt in the cave visits me again. I feel like I have to sit down. The fog is still filling the room. I breathe in. I breathe out. Haze filling my lungs. I see a vision of myself. I’m upside down. My mouth is moving, but I can’t hear any sound. I feel weightless. The vision becomes me. Why is this happening? I try to grip the window sill with all of my strength. The harder I grasp the sicker I feel. Finally, I give in. I let go.

I am taken back to my youth. Every fork in the road is presented to me as a ‘what if?’. I follow the paths to their conclusion. I have to let it go. I have to leave this tower. I feel safe here, yet terrified of what that means. Am I a prisoner in my own fortress? Are the things I’m holding on to holding on to me?

Song 262: “Temporal Suspension”

Time stops, suspended
The world stops spinning
I’m hanging upside down

How long do I hold on
Do these dreams hold me down
Am I awake in this life

The blood rushes to my head
Am I at all ready for this world
I’m floating in this haze

How long do I hold on
Do these dreams hold me down
Am I awake in this life

Valuble treasures in my eyes
Does it matter if I’m not alive

I’m floating in this haze

credits

from bellum spirituale – September 2016, track released September 18, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
song18
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

