The world makes sense today, while I fly away… Song 289

Another day, another song. This one started out with me just playing with sound libraries. For some reason, the bells stood out to me. I just rolled with it. It’s a blustery day here in Chicagoland. The winds blow, the sun hides. I hear bells in the distance and right in front of me. I wonder what it’s like to fly. The traffic passes, I build my song, brick by brick. My work is done for the day.

Song 289: “Bells”

Rise above the wind
My wings are worn and raw

I look out over waters, flowing to my heart
The world makes sense today, while I fly away

The sound I appear to make is just an illusion
The vows I tried to take end in confusion

I reach out to the noise, pluck memories from my mind
The world makes sense today and I’ve gone blind

Pick a word and suffer, the sticks and stones
I dream of all the time I could waste

The bells are ringing, calling me home

credits

from October 2016, track released October 15, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

