Here I sit, breathless and broken… Song 307

A stormy November day here in Chicagoland. The weather seemed to coax the melancholia out of my heart. Dark and wet and grey. From the first strum of my guitar this morning, this song poured out easily. I’ve had a busy day. I wrote this song, then finished another (which I hope I’ll be able to release tonight… if things go right) and finally worked on some instrumental music for a friend. Need more coffee…

Song 307: “A Brave Face”

I’ll keep my pieces safe, I won’t get swept away

Every bit a brave face, and always stuck in place

Here I sit, breathless and broken
I wish I were still in love with living free

Every turn a misstep, untied and restless

Here I sit, breathless and broken
I wish I were still in love with living free

Wander somber
I’m under clouds unyielding
Still I remain

Every bit a brave face
I’ll keep my secrets safe here

credits

from November – 2016, track released November 2, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

