A soul, a window, A way to feel alive… Song 335

Eleven months finished, a mere 31 songs to go to wrap up my 366 song project! As this project comes to a close, winter is starting to show it’s hand. A sunny day turned suddenly cold and grey. It always reminds you it’s right around the corner, yet I always let it punch me in the face, unexpectedly. I’ve been watching documentaries about the last ice age a lot lately, and one thing that struck me was how quickly everything froze. Days like this remind me of how quickly things can change. I just want to stay warm. I just want to keep that light alive until sunnier days return…

Song 335: “Keep That Light Alive”

That cold wind starts to blow
Winter announces a new decree
Hold so tight, keep alive that light

A soul, a window
A way to feel alive
An eye, a wound shown
A life that passes by
Keep that light alive

That old moon don’t shine
It’s all clouded in my mind

Hold so tight, keep alive that light

A soul, a window
A way to feel alive
An eye, a wound shown
A life that passes by
Keep that light alive

I wonder what time will tell
As I run and hide
To keep that light alive

Keep that light alive
Keep that light alive
Keep that light alive

credits

from November – 2016, track released November 30, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

Leave a Reply

