The words I suffer take everything I need… Song 361

Only five more songs to go to finish this project! Today’s song took me a little longer than usual to finish, but I really love how it turned out. There’s a synth part in it that I ran through guitar effects. It makes it sound really aggressive, but at the same time, ethereal. The melody to this song sounds somewhat familiar to me, but I can’t figure out what it’s reminding me of. It sounds like a psychedelic indie rock kind of song.

Song 361: “Not Beaten”

Sirens calling out to me
The words I suffer take everything I need

The gold I wished away while being fooled
Gave me nothing but time
To fade away

Those needles piercing memories
Bursting my balloons with a wound

The pain I tried to save hid inside me
Tried to trick me into feeling
Something I never had

I walk alone with the wind at my back
I walk alone with the wind at my back
Still not beaten

The pain I tried to save hid inside me
Tried to trick me into feeling
Something I never had

Still not beaten

credits

from December – 2016, track released December 26, 2016
Written, recorded and performed by Matthew Sams
Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

1 thought on “The words I suffer take everything I need… Song 361”

Leave a Reply

