New Year, New Goals…

Well, 2017 is upon us. After a (well deserved, in my opinion) break from making music, I’m jumping back into it.

I’m looking at releasing two albums this year, one (the first) will be an album taken from my 366 Song Project, but re-recorded and professionally finished. It will be called “Dying Days” and will be released on Vinyl, CD, Digital and streaming. It will be available on all the major outlets for purchase. The next step is for me to raise the cash to get it produced. So, I’ll be starting a GoFundMe campaign to get it done. There will be some fun perks in exchange for support. I’ve lined up a two-time Grammy award winning engineer to mix the album for me. It will sound amazing!

The second album (probably released around autumn) will be called “High Tide”. I don’t have anything lined up for that one though. So, we’ll see how the first album turns out.

The other goal I have for 2017 is to start playing live shows again. I’m going to get out and play again and really rock it out. In addition to playing venues, I’ll be doing “virtual concerts” periodically throughout the year on YouTube. I hope ya’ll can catch the shows!

As an addendum, I’ve tallied up the total number of songs I’ve written and released, the total is 794… just 6 songs short of an even 800. That doesn’t sit right with me. So, in the next few weeks, I’m going to record a 6 song EP and release it so I can ease my mild OCD… but then again, that puts me a mere 200 songs away from an even 1000. I’ll tackle that at some point too, I’m sure.

Anyway, Happy New Year everyone! And stay in touch…

Matt

Author: matthewsams

Matt Sams is an American singer/songwriter/guitarist from the Chicago area. He has been playing music since childhood and is now in the process of writing, recording and releasing a new song every day of 2014. Keep up to date on the progress by following Matt on Twitter @Somnistatic

1 thought on “New Year, New Goals…”

  1. That’s great your going to re record all those songs and release them! Good luck with that, the 6 song 800 song yep release, live shows, ext. Do hope when I get back to town to get my home studio up and good enough to record at least one album with some friends n do some live shows. Very inspirational. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

